Fruity Gummy Bears (close-up shot) on an old wooden table
Sep
19
2017

Foods You Didn’t Know Were Halal

Haribo Gummies

Gummy bears are typically a no-no for halal folks with a sweet tooth, since they use gelatin, which is often derived from pork. Lucky for us, Haribo gummies, that are made in Turkey use plant-based gelatin alternatives, so you can happily chew away during your next movie night (save us some of the red ones, they’re our favourite)!

Vegan Marshmallows

Campfire season is almost over here in Canada, but we’re hoping to get a few more cozy evenings around the bonfire before the final leaves fall. While there’s no better campfire treat than a nice, gooey s’more, marshmallows are typically off-limits if you’re eating halal because, like gummy bears, they contain gelatin. Fortunately, the rising popularity of veganism and other plant-based diets also spells good news for those eating halal, because it means wider availability of animal product–free confections like marshmallows, so you can have halal campfire s’mores after you finish roasting your Zabiha Halal chicken franks over the fire!

Kosher Cheeses

Halal foodies need to be cautious near the cheese plate because cheeses are often made with animal-based enzymes that don’t always follow halal preparation practices. Fortunately, more and more brands are using microbial enzymes that are plant-based, and therefore halal. If you can’t find halal cheeses, look for certified Kosher cheeses, as these will all use plant-based enzymes.

Your Fave Fast Food Chain, Maybe?

We were pleasantly surprised by the number of fast food places offering halal food options on their menus, even really “mainstream” chains like KFC, South Street Burger and Boston Pizza are adding halal offerings to their menus for Muslim customers in search of a quick bite. Halal menu offerings can vary from location to location, even within the same chain, so be sure to double-check with the location near you, just to be safe. A quick bit of internet research can tell you whether you can get halal food to go at your local drive-thru!

 

What foods have most surprised you as being halal – or not? Let us know over on the Zabiha Halal Facebook Page!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest